Freedom – A Short Motivational Poem

rear view of a silhouette man in window
Photo by Donald Tong on Pexels.com

Locked up in a green-lit dark room,

I didn’t know where to go,

I felt like a rat

Caught in a trap

But the more I squirmed

The more I felt the bars

I felt so helpless

It hurt to think about me and my family

Locked up in a room

I didn’t know where to go

The more the days passed, the more I thought

How stupid I had been

For not trusting my friends

For thinking, I was no one

For listening to my enemy

For being so arrogant

For thinking I could win

For being so.

Why did I end up here?

You don’t know how much I wanted to be free

I feel hungry and thirsty,

All-day long I was thinking

About the days that were no more

Especially about the way I was treated

With the wrong that I had done

Though the situation was vicious

The pain of my imprisonment

Would slowly make me free

I had to let go of my anger

All the hate that I had felt

You only live once

Don’t throw your life away

Open your eyes

The past is not always a good thing

I had a dream

That I could run free

It seemed so real

I could feel the wind on my face

The air in my lungs, the dirt beneath my feet

But all too soon it ended and I woke from my dream

A dream I longed to live

I thought of my home

I lay awake and thought of the day I would escape.

One day, I uncovered a few bricks,

made a secret passage,

I could not finish,

I had to find a way.

I dug and dug

and crept into the hole,

I had escaped from the horrid place,

To roam the earth,

To live my life

with a new family

I now have a home

I can never be locked away.

Now I’m free

My dream has come true.

I can now spread my wings like a bird

Only through my freedom can I learn.

I repeat.

Only through my freedom can I learn.

Leave a comment